Produktion von Drahtspeichen und Speichennippeln

Tradition since 1885

The eventful history of the precursors
of WWS Drahtspeichen GmbH

In 1885 in Altena, Wilhelm Berg founded awire drawing mill. Over the years, in addition to wire drawing, the production of various metal products, such as springs, hospital furniture and mattresses, etc., was added to the product portfolio.

With the increasing desire for mobility within society between the middle and end of the 19th century and the invention of the wire-spoked wheel, production of wire spokes and spoke nipples became the most important field of business for the Wilh. Berg firm.

In the decades that followed, the firm became one of the leading spoke manufacturers in Europe. At peak periods, up to 3,500 employees were employed on a number of sites.
Over the years from the company's formation in 1885, the clover leaf trademark gradually became known throughout the world.

"Wilh. Berg Altena i. Westf." (WBA) initially had exclusive distribution rights for the spokes.

Later a sales group by the name of "Berg Union" was formed, made up of the firms "Wilh. Berg Altena i. Westf." and "Union Gesellschaft für Metallindustrie m.b.H".

In 1995/1996 the technical director of the spoke production line took over parts of the production plant and founded with other employees WWS Drahtverarbeitungs GmbH.

From this moment the "clover leaf" couldn`t longer be used because the company Wilh. Berg as the management company still exists and stays the owner of the owner rights. So – as an alternative – a "W" (first letter of the name of the then owner of the WWS) is coined on the spoke head!

In the spring of 2007 the previous owner died and the firm was sold off again and was relaunched under the present name. In the same year the old trademark rights could be acquired in order to continue producing the proven and well-known "clover leaf spokes". By stamping the spoke head with the clover leaf imprint, the new owner is returning to an old tradition of the Wilh. Berg firm. The spoke with the clover leaf is back!

In summer 2013, WWS moved – because of organisational reasons – to the proximity of Koblenz.

Top

Produktion von Drahtspeichen und Speichennippeln

Tradition seit 1885

Die bewegte Vorgeschichte
der WWS Drahtspeichen GmbH

Wilhelm Berg gründet 1885 in Altena eine Drahtzieherei. Mit den Jahren wird neben der Drahtzieherei die Produktion von diversen Metallerzeugnissen wie Federn, Krankenhausmöbeln, Matratzen, etc. zum Produktportfolio hinzugenommen.

Mit dem Drang zur Mobilität der Gesellschaft Mitte bis Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts und der Erfindung des Drahtspeichenrades wird die Produktion von Drahtspeichen und Speichennippeln zum interessanten Geschäftsfeld der Fa. Wilh. Berg.

Diese entwickelt sich in den darauffolgenden Jahrzehnten zu dem führenden Speichenhersteller in Europa. In Spitzenzeiten arbeiten an verschiedenen Standorten bis zu 3.500 Mitarbeitern.

Mit Gründung des Unternehmens im Jahr 1885 wird das Kleeblatt als Markenzeichen im Laufe der Zeit weltbekannt.

Der Vertrieb der Speichen erfolgt anfangs ausschließlich durch „Wilh. Berg Altena i. Westf.“ (WBA)

Später wird eine Vertriebsgemeinschaft „Berg-Union“ gegründet, die sich aus den Firmen „Wilh. Berg Altena i. Westf.“ und „Union Gesellschaft für Metallindustrie m.b.H“ zusammensetzt.

Der technische Leiter der Speichenproduktionssparte nutzt die Geschäftsaufgabe der Fa. Marwi und übernimmt 1995/1996 Teile der Produktionsanlagen und gründet mit weiteren Mitarbeitern die WWS Drahtverarbeitungs GmbH.

Ab diesem Zeitpunkt kann das Kleeblatt nicht mehr verwendet werden, weil die Firma Berg als Verwaltungsgesellschaft weiter existiert und Inhaber dieser Rechte bleibt. So muss als Alternative ein „W“ (Anfangsbuchstabe des Namens des damaligen Eigentümers der WWS) auf den Speichenkopf geprägt werden!

Im Frühling 2007 verstirbt der bisherige Eigentümer; die Firma wird erneut verkauft und unter dem jetzigen Namen fortgeführt. Im gleichen Jahr können die alten Markenrechte erworben werden, um die bewährten und allseits bekannten „Kleeblattspeichen“ weiter zu produzieren. Mit der Prägung des Kleeblattes in den Speichenkopf greift der neue Eigentümer eine alte Tradition der Firma Wilh. Berg wieder auf. Die Speiche mit dem Kleeblatt ist wieder da!

Im Sommer 2013 verlegt die Firma aus organisatorischen Gründen das Unternehmen in die Nähe von Koblenz.

Top